Occupational Classification for Underwriting

Berkshire categorizes risks into one of six occupation classes.

note: Please request a quote to get the most up-to-date pricing specifically for your Occupation or Medical Specialty.

In general, the classes can be broken down as follows with the "M" designation indicating a Medical Specialty; please ask your agent for complete details:

Class 6 & 6M

Certain Business Owners or Corporate Executives, CPA's, Architects, Degreed Engineers, Attorneys, etc  (6M = Optomitrists, etc)

Class 5 & 5M

Professionals and executives that may not qualify for Class 6 due to income, stability of employment, or education/training and experience.  Primarily office duties with no job requirements to travel. (5M = Pharmacist, psychologists, etc)

Class 4 & 4M

Professionals, semi-professionals, and others performing work in office, clerical, sales, or travel, but requiring no manual labor. (4M = Certain non-invasive Medical & Dental Professionals)

Class 3 & 3M

Occupations that require more physical activity than Class 4, or for which the claims experience is higher.  (eg. Automobile dealers, contractors, registered nurses, etc)  (3M = Certain Invasive Medical & Dental Professionals, or ones for which claims experience is higher)

Class 2 & 2M

Includes occupations where light manual duties or skilled work are involved, including small businesses where the proprietor has specialized skills. These are uninsurable except in employer-sponsored situations with a mix of other occupation classes (at least 50% of participants must be in classes 6, 5, 4, 4P or 3) unless the applicant is a business owner. Business owners who have owned the business for at least five years and whose income is at least $25,000 may be issued as individuals. Included in this class would be watchmakers, upholsterers, etc.

Class 1 & 1M

Includes occupations requiring heavy manual duties or where there are real accident or environmental hazards. These are uninsurable except in employer sponsored situations with a mix of other occupation classes (at least 50% of participants must be Classes 6, 5, 4, 4P or 3). Examples include mechanics and plasterers. For any risk whose classification cannot be determined from the following listing on pages 2-5 through 2-19, contact your underwriter for consideration.

A Note About Medical Specialties (M)

It can be difficult to determine exactly what constitutes invasive procedures. For underwriting purposes, these are procedures such as catheterization, stent placement, angioplasty, pacemaker implantation, retinal surgeries, Mohs procedures, colonoscopies, endoscopies, cystoscopies and autopsies.

Most hospitals have a four-year residency program. Residents in their third and fourth year have declared their specialties and should be classed accordingly. Residents in their first and second year usually have not declared their specialty as they will go through various rotations for the first two years. They are, however, placed in either a "Medical" or "Surgical" residency program. Those residents in a medical residency program will be classified as a 4M while those in surgical residency programs will be classified as a 3M.

source: Berkshire DI Underwriting guide